Tarry for the Nonce

June 1, 2006

An Unlikely Adversary

Filed under: Politics — lmwalker @ 3:13 pm

At least one U.S. war veteran is suing Michael Moore:

A U.S. war veteran who lost both arms in Iraq has sued Oscar-winning director Michael Moore for $85 million, saying television clips were used without his permission in the anti-war documentary “Fahrenheit 9/11” and gave a false impression that he opposed the war.

Sgt. Peter Damon, 33, a supporter of President George W. Bush and the Iraq war, claims Moore misused the footage to portray him “in a false light” and as “disagreeing with the president about the war effort and as disagreeing with the war effort itself.”

“It was kind of almost like the enemy was using me for propaganda. What soldier wants to be involved in that?” Damon told CBS’s local television news affiliate. “I didn’t lose my arms over there to come back and be used as ammunition against my commander-in-chief.”

I don’t like Michael Moore’s political diatribes and I express my displeasure through the money I don’t spend at the box office. However, I am torn between my disgust with the “sue one, sue all” mentality so prevalent in society and the morbid satisfaction of seeing Michael Moore called on the carpet.

I fear my better nature shall lose this particular struggle.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

