Tarry for the Nonce

March 3, 2006

“And My Tummy Grumbles Too!”

Filed under: News — lmwalker @ 2:56 pm

Fawzi al-Odah is complaining that Guantanamo did not permit him to starve himself:

Through his lawyer, Mr Odah described his treatment during his hunger strike.

“First they took my comfort items away from me. You know, my blanket, my towel, my long pants, then my shoes. I was put in isolation for 10 days.

“They came in and read out an order. It said if you refuse to eat, we will put you on the chair [for force feeding].”

He then expanded his accusation to say:

“I’m always tired. I have pain in my kidneys. I have trouble breathing. I have pain in my heart and am short of breath. I have trouble urinating and having bowel movements.”

Well, gee, you don’t think that might have something to do with the fact that you were starving yourself, do you? Of course, the UN Human Right Commissions has denounced force-feeding as a form of torture. I suppose they consider it a much better option to let the detainees starve themselves.

2 Comments

  1. “They took away my blankie!”

    I caught this interview on the radio today. (Odah’s responses were voiced by an actor.) This guy didn’t get to have pants and the guards were not nice to him? Poor baby.

    The UN Human Rights Commission said recently that it regarded force-feeding at Guantanamo as a form of torture

    Here’s a good rule: if the UN starts using weasel words like “regarded as torture” or “tantamount to torture,” the odds are, it isn’t torture. Force-feeding these people isn’t very pretty to look at, but neither are starved coprses, and if Mr. Odah starved himself to death, somehow I doubt the Gitmo authorities would get a pat on the back for respecting his wishes. (Never mind the new martyr that would create for the ever-important Arab street.)

    If the UN thinks Guantanamo is brutal, perhaps it should start first with the ordinary prisons of 99% of its members.

    Related.

    Comment by Toly — March 3, 2006 @ 5:25 pm

  2. What if they just had him sign a food waiver? This way, when he did die, they could produce a document saying that he was aware of the repurcussions of not eating and thereby released all indemnity held by the US government…. :oD

    Of course, he’d have to sign a not forced to sign this waiver waiver… hell, they should just have a license agreement that the prisoners would need to click/thumb/sign when they enter the prison to indemnify the whole friggin place. We can too learn a lot from the lawyers at Microsoft.

    “By entering the prison/posting below you reluinquish all starvation responsibility from the United States government and Laurawalker.org. You agree to attempt to eat meals, unless you’ve decided to starve yourself to death. The United States of America, and Laurawalker.org, will take no responsibility for your refusal to eat.”

    Comment by Andrew P. — March 3, 2006 @ 10:08 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

